Will Kaia Gerber win Model of the Year against the Hadid sisters? 

Our favourite looks of Kaia Gerber on the SS18 runways – Chanel, Chloe, Saint Laurent and Bottega Veneta; but how the debut model stand against seasoned faces like Gigi Hadid and Bella Hadid?

After a ground-breaking makeover last year under its new name, The Fashion Awards in partnership with Swarovski returns this year, with the awards ceremony scheduled for December 4th at the Royal Albert Hall in London.

The British Fashion Council just released the list of nominees for nine award categories, as voted for by 2000 industry professionals.

As expected, we’re seeing several familiar names like Christopher Bailey (Burberry) and Jonathan Anderson (JW Anderson) who are both running for British Designer of the Year, as well as Alessandro Michele (Gucci) and Maria Grazia Chiuri (Christian Dior) for Designer of the Year.

But we’re paying special attention to fresh faces like Kaia Gerber, who turned heads and made headlines on the SS18 Fashion Week runways alongside more seasoned models like Adwoa Aboah, Winnie Harlow and the Hadid sisters – all who have been nominated for Model of the Year.

We’ve also got our eyes set on the Urban Luxe Brand of the Year category, which includes first-time nominees – Fenty Puma by Rihanna and Supreme.

Check out the full line-up below.

Model of the Year

  • Adwoa Aboah
  • Bella Hadid
  • Gigi Hadid
  • Kaia Gerber
  • Winnie Harlow

Urban Luxe Brand of the Year

  • Fenty Puma by Rihanna
  • Gosha Rubchinskiy
  • Off-White
  • Supreme
  • Vetements

Business Leader

  • Adrian Joffe for Dover Street Market
  • Guram Gvasalia for Vetements
  • José Neves for Farfetch
  • Marco Bizzarri for Gucci
  • Ruth and Tom Chapman for Matchesfashion.com

British Emerging Talent — Menswear

  • Ben Cottrell and Matthew Dainty for Cottweiler
  • Charles Jeffrey for Charles Jeffrey Loverboy
  • Henry Holland for House of Holland
  • Phoebe English for Phoebe English Man
  • Samuel Ross for A-Cold-Wall*

British Emerging Talent — Womenswear

  • Faustine Steinmetz for Faustine Steinmetz
  • Matty Bovan for Matty Bovan
  • Michael Halpern for Halpern
  • Natalia Alaverdian for A.W.A.K.E
  • Rejina Pyo for Rejina Pyo

British Designer of the Year — Menswear

  • Christopher Bailey MBE for Burberry
  • Craig Green for Craig Green
  • Grace Wales Bonner for Wales Bonner
  • Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson
  • Martine Rose for Martine Rose

British Designer of the Year — Womenswear

  • Christopher Kane for Christopher Kane
  • Erdem Moralioglu for Erdem
  • Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson
  • Roksanda Ilincic for Roksanda
  • Sarah Burton OBE for Alexander McQueen

Accessories Designer of the Year

  • Alessandro Michele for Gucci
  • Anthony Vaccarello for Saint Laurent
  • Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga
  • Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
  • Stuart Vevers for Coach

Designer of the Year

  • Alessandro Michele for Gucci
  • Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
  • Maria Grazia Chiuri for Dior
  • Phoebe Philo for Céline
  • Raf Simons for Calvin Klein
Alessandro Michele and Gigi Hadid won Designer of the Year and Model of the Year respectively at last year’s Fashion Awards. Will they take home the award again on Dec 4th?

Three other special-recognition categories will be presented on the night: The Outstanding Achievement Award; the Swarovski Award for Positive Change; and the Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator.

In case you missed out before, watch the video below to see the highlights of last year’s event.


For more information on The Fashion Awards 2017, visit the official website here. Follow the British Fashion Council on Instagram (@britishfashioncouncil) for updates.

Images and media: Courtesy of Fashion Awards